Age Differences in Religious Life

So, I have a question to pose to you.

Would you enter a community where you were the youngest by 20 years?

And should it be a factor in your discernment?

God has placed this question on my heart lately.

I have felt him asking me to post my thoughts on the subject.

So, here goes:

When I was discerning religious life, i was faced with this dilemma. 

I could enter a community that had people my age or closer to my age.

Or, i could enter a community that had no one my age.

As you can guess, for those who know me, i entered a community that had no one close to my age.

As i made that decision i felt that God was asking me to put myself and my future into his hands.

i felt him tell me that i needed to TRUST that he would provide for me.

And God has definitely come through on his end of the deal.  Doesn’t he always anyway? 🙂

Although no one close to my age has entered, i am extremely happy and find my life with my sisters very fulfilling.

Age really has not been a factor in my experience of religious life.

What do you think?

 

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

